At the base level, oats is a plant product so it’s 100% vegan. Oatmeal is one of the best healthy breakfast vegans can consume! It is highly versatile (you can make it plain, sweet, savory, add fruit, etc.) and very nutritious.

Is Quaker Oatmeal Vegan?

But is any oatmeal vegan? If you don’t know exactly what oatmeal is it, and if there any additives, then it can be a complicated task. You can choose vegan options for cooking like non-dairy almond milk or water, but some restaurants make it with dairy milk, which makes it non-vegan.

There’s the same problem of instant oats. Manufacturers often put additives to give extra flavor or sweetness to make plain oats tastier.

Non-vegan additives:

  1. milk products (cream)
  2. whey – a byproduct of milk after it strained – good for vegetarians but not for vegans
  3. honey
  4. animal-derived vitamins (vitamin D3 derived from sheep wool)
  5. shellac (made from bugs)

Besides al animal products, instant oats often contain unhealthy additions:

  • potentially non-vegan sugar (strict vegans don’t consume it)
  • food coloring – often tested on animals
  • natural flavor – can be either vegan or not as it contains many ingredients.
  • preservatives
  • artificial ingredients

Not all instant oats have these non-vegan and harmful additives.

The best way to know if the product vegan or not is the list of ingredients and knowledge of which of them are plant-based and which are animal-derived. There are also sites with lists of what ingredients vegans can eat and what products are prohibited.

What is Oatmeal?

Homemade Oatmeal

 

Oatmeal is a type of meal that is made up of oats (amazing!). When we talk about oatmeal, we mean a porridge made of oats.

The oat seeds are soaked in some liquid (water, almond milk, milk, etc.).

As a rule, it’s served hot with liquid or additives of your choice.

As a result, you get a chewy, gooey, steaming hot porridge.

But there are other varieties – overnight oats ( just soak seeds in liquid for 1 night), put oats in granola or cookies, etc.

Kinds of Oatmeal

All oatmeal oats begin with whole oat (a groat).

The groats have to be processed in order to get the flaky oats we used to eat for breakfast:

  1. Taking the hull (outer layer of the groat) off to get the inside of the oat seed, which we call “oats”.
  2. Then the outer layer is removed, the oats are rolled or steel-cut, which results in different varieties of oats for oatmeals:
    • Old-fashioned oats – the outer shell is stripped off, the inside is steamed and pressed until flat with rollers, and flaked into the shape we know. These oats are not completely flat, so they don’t lose their texture while cooking oatmeal.
    • Quick-cook rolled oats – they are rolled much flatter and thinner than old-fashioned oats to make cooking time shorter.
    • Instant oats – this kind of oats is cooked and dried before machine rolls seeds very, very thin. They are quicker 5 times to cook than quick-cook rolled oats. Unfortunately, instant oats have fewer health benefits than other types of oats.
    • Steel cut oats – they are not rolled but cut. Steel blades cut the unprocessed oat into small pieces that remind rice. That’s why steel cut oats are much chewier and less processed. They take much more time to cook as they are not flattened and don’t absorb liquid.

Nutritional Benefits of Oatmeal

Oatmeal and strwberry

Oatmeal is an important part of any diet:

  1. Oats consumption helps lower cholesterol more effectively compared to other types of grains which makes them an excellent breakfast for every day.
  2. Oatmeal is rich in iron, phosphorus, B vitamins, zinc, and other minerals and vitamins.
  3. Oats are an excellent source of carbs, healthy fats, protein, and fiber. If compared to other grains, oats are high in protein –13 grams per 1/2 cup of oats.
  4. Oats provide your body with complex carbs with a low glycemic index. These sugars will be released into your body for the whole day and make you feel full for a long period of time. Your blood sugar level stays steady without spiking and crashing throughout the day.

Not all kinds of oatmeal have the same benefits. Instant oats give the least amount of nutritional value. Steel cut oats and old-fashioned oats are less-proceeded and have higher nutritional value.

Sources:

Is Quaker Oatmeal Vegan?

Standard Quaker Oatmeal Ingredients are:

  • whole grain rolled oats
  • natural and artificial flavor
  • sugar
  • salt
  • guar gum
  • calcium carbonate
  • caramel color
  • niacinamide
  • sucralose
  • reduced iron
  • pyridoxine hydrochloride
  • vitamin A palmitate
  • riboflavin
  • folic acid
  • thiamin mononitrate

There are no obvious animal ingredients but the answer is still ambiguous. Some flavors of Quaker instant oatmeal are vegan-friendly, but some are not. If we talk about old fashioned Quaker oats that are used in many meals – they are vegan. But not every option of this brand is vegan-friendly.

If we talk about the instant ones – they are considered vegan until they have “and cream” in their name, because this taste is derived from milk.

Oatmeal Vegan

The instant varieties have many additives that might contain sugar the was processed through cow’s bones. Technically they don’t include animal derivatives, but they are derived with the help of exploitation of animals. As a rule, vitamin A palmitate is also found in animal sources ( fish, liver, dairy products, eggs).

I’ve checked up the list of ingredients for each flavor and found out which one is vegan and which one is not.

Pay attention to the kind of oatmeal – cups and boxes with packets. “Apples and cranberries” flavor has different ingredients in cups and in boxes. Boxes are vegan and the cups are not. Don’t forget about it if you buy oatmeal at work or at school.

Apple & Cranberries

Instant Oatmeal Quaker

Box:

  • whole grain oats
  • dried apples
  • sugar
  • dried cranberries
  • natural flavor
  • salt

Is it vegan?

  • Non-vegan ingredients – No
  • Controversial ingredients –  natural flavor, sugar

Possibly Vegan

Cup:

  • Whole Grain Rolled Oats
  • Dehydrated Apples
  • Sugar
  • Whey Protein Isolate
  • Cranberries
  • Maltodextrin
  • Natural Flavor
  • Calcium Carbonate
  • Salt
  • Malic Acid
  • Niacinamide
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Reduced Iron
  • Pyridoxine Hydrochloride
  • Vitamin A Palmitate
  • Riboflavin
  • Folic Acid
  • Thiamin Mononitrate

Is it vegan?

  • Non-vegan ingredients – whey protein isolate
  • Controversial ingredients –  natural flavor, sugar

Not Vegan

Apples and Cinnamon

Box:

  • whole grain oats
  • dried apples
  • sugar
  • natural flavor
  • salt
  • cinnamon

Is it vegan?

  • Non-vegan ingredients – None
  • Controversial ingredients – natural flavor, sugar

Possibly Vegan

Cup:

  • Whole Grain Rolled Oats
  • Dehydrated Apples
  • Sugar
  • Natural And Artificial Flavor
  • Cinnamon
  • Salt
  • Calcium Carbonate
  • Guar Gum
  • Citric Acid
  • Malic Acid
  • Reduced Iron
  • Niacinamide
  • Vitamin A Palmitate
  • Riboflavin
  • Pyridoxine Hydrochloride
  • Thiamin Mononitrate
  • Caramel Color
  • Folic Acid

Is it vegan?

  • Non-vegan ingredients – None
  • Controversial ingredients – natural flavor, sugar

Possibly Vegan

Banana & Maple

Ingredients:

  • whole grain oats
  • dried banana flakes
  • sugar
  • natural flavor
  • salt

Is it vegan?

  • Non-vegan ingredients – None
  • Controversial ingredients – natural flavor, sugar

Possibly Vegan

Blueberries and Cream

Ingredients:

  • Whole Grain Rolled Oats
  • Blueberry Flavored And Colored Fruit Pieces (Corn Syrup Solids, Dried Figs, Modified Food Starch, Dextrose, Sugar, Glycerin, Canola Oil, Blueberry Juice Concentrate, Artificial Blueberry Flavor, Blue 2 Lake, Red 40 Lake, Citric Acid)
  • Sugar
  • Creaming Agent (Maltodextrin, Whey, Sunflower And Palm Oils, Sodium Caseinate)
  • Calcium Carbonate
  • Salt
  • Guar Gum
  • Niacinamide
  • Artificial Flavor
  • Vitamin A Palmitate
  • Pyridoxine Hydrochloride
  • Reduced Iron
  • Riboflavin
  • Thiamin Mononitrate
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Folic Acid

Is it vegan?

  • Non-vegan ingredients – sodium caseinate, whey
  • Controversial ingredients – palm oil, sugar, glycerin, artificial colors

Not Vegan

Cinnamon and Spice

Quaker Cinnamon and Spice

Ingredients:

  • whole grain oats
  • salt
  • sugar
  • cinnamon and other spices
  • natural flavor

Is it vegan?

  • Non-vegan ingredients – None
  • Controversial ingredients – Natural flavor

Possibly Vegan

Coconut and Caramel

Ingredients:

  • Whole Grain Rolled Oats
  • Salt
  • Sugar
  • Natural Flavor (with Coconut)

Is it vegan?

  • Non-vegan ingredients – None
  • Controversial ingredients – Natural flavor

Possibly Vegan

Honey and Almonds

Box:

  • Whole Grain Oats
  • Roasted Almonds
  • Sugar
  • Whey Protein Isolate
  • Salt
  • Maltodextrin
  • Natural Flavor
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Honey

Is it vegan?

  • Non-vegan ingredients – honey, whey protein isolate
  • Controversial ingredients – natural flavor, sugar

Not Vegan

Cup:

  • Whole Grain Rolled Oats
  • Almonds
  • Sugar
  • Whey Protein Isolate
  • Molasses
  • Maltodextrin
  • Salt
  • Calcium Carbonate
  • Natural Flavor
  • Honey
  • Niacinamide
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Reduced Iron
  • Pyridoxine Hydrochloride
  • Vitamin A Palmitate
  • Riboflavin
  • Folic Acid
  • Thiamin Mononitrate

Is it vegan?

  • Non-vegan ingredients – honey, whey protein isolate
  • Controversial ingredients – natural flavor, sugar

Not Vegan

Maple and Brown Sugar

Quaker Maple and Brown Sugar

Box:

  • Whole grain oats
  • salt
  • sugar
  • natural flavor

Is it vegan?

  • Non-vegan ingredients – None
  • Controversial ingredients – natural flavor, sugar

Possibly Vegan

Cup:

  • Whole Grain Rolled Oats
  • Natural And Artificial Flavor
  • Sugar
  • Salt, Calcium Carbonate
  • Caramel Color
  • Guar Gum
  • Niacinamide
  • Vitamin A Palmitate
  • Reduced Iron
  • Pyridoxine Hydrochloride
  • Thiamin Mononitrate
  • Riboflavin
  • Folic Acid.

Is it vegan?

  • Non-vegan ingredients – None
  • Controversial ingredients – natural flavor, sugar

Possibly Vegan

Original

Ingredients:

  • whole grain oats
  • salt
  • calcium carbonate
  • reduced iron

Is it vegan?

  • Non-vegan ingredients – None
  • Controversial ingredients – None

Vegan

Peaches and Cream

Ingredients:

  • Whole Grain Rolled Oats
  • Creaming Agent (Sunflower And Palm Oils, Maltodextrin, Whey, Sodium Caseinate)
  • Sugar
  • Flavored And Colored Fruit Pieces (Artificial Peach Flavor, Dehydrated Apples, Citric Acid, Annatto)
  • Calcium Carbonate
  • Salt
  • Guar Gum
  • Niacinamide
  • Artificial Flavor
  • Vitamin A Palmitate
  • Pyridoxine Hydrochloride
  • Reduced Iron
  • Riboflavin
  • Folic Acid
  • Thiamin Mononitrate

Is it vegan?

  • Non-vegan ingredients – whey
  • Controversial ingredients – palm oil, sugar

Not Vegan

Peanut Butter and Honey

Ingredients:

  • Whole Grain Oats
  • Partially Defatted Peanut Flour
  • Sugar
  • Salt
  • Natural Flavor
  • Honey

Is it vegan?

  • Non-vegan ingredients – honey
  • Controversial ingredients – natural flavor, sugar

Not Vegan

Peanut Butter and Banana

Ingredients:

  • whole grain oats
  • partially defatted peanut flour
  • sugar
  • dried banana flakes
  • natural flavor
  • salt

Is it vegan?

  • Non-vegan ingredients – None
  • Controversial ingredients – natural flavor, sugar

Possibly Vegan

Pumpkin Spice

Oatmeal Quaker Pumpkin Spice

Ingredients:

  • Whole Grain Rolled Oats
  • Nonfat Dry Milk
  • Sugar
  • Salt
  • Natural Flavor
  • Spices

Is it vegan?

  • Non-vegan ingredients – Nonfat Dry Milk
  • Controversial ingredients – natural flavor, sugar

Not Vegan

Raisins and Spice

Ingredients:

  • Whole Grain Oats
  • Salt
  • Raisins, Sugar
  • Spices

Natural Flavor

Is it vegan?

  • Non-vegan ingredients – None
  • Controversial ingredients – natural flavor, sugar

Possibly Vegan

Raisin, Date and Walnut

Quaker Raisin, Date and Walnut

Ingredients:

  • Whole Grain Oats
  • Raisins
  • Sugar
  • Dates
  • Salt
  • Walnuts Coated With Rosemary Extract
  • Cinnamon

Is it vegan?

  • Non-vegan ingredients – None
  • Controversial ingredients – Sugar

Vegan

Strawberries and Cream

Oatmeal Quaker

Ingredients:

  • Whole Grain Rolled Oats
  • Creaming Agent (Sunflower And Palm Oils, Maltodextrin, Whey, Sodium Caseinate)
  • Sugar
  • Flavored And Colored Fruit Pieces (Artificial Strawberry Flavor, Dehydrated Apples, Citric Acid, Red 40)
  • Guar Gum
  • Salt
  • Artificial Flavor
  • Niacinamide
  • Citric Acid
  • Vitamin A Palmitate
  • Pyridoxine Hydrochloride
  • Reduced Iron
  • Riboflavin
  • Folic Acid
  • Thiamin Mononitrate

Is it vegan?

  • Non-vegan ingredients – sodium caseinate, whey
  • Controversial ingredients – palm oil, sugar, artificial color (red 40)

Not Vegan

Which Quaker Instant Oatmeal Flavors Are Vegan?

If you don’t consider “sugar” to be vegan, then only the original flavor is for you. If we think that Quaker doesn’t use bones to whiten sugar, and “natural flavor” is vegan, we have much more opportunities and “possible vegan” flavors are good for us.

Apple and Cranberries Packetspossibly vegan, but cup version is not
Apples and CinnamonBoth packets and cups are possibly vegan
Banana and MaplePossibly vegan
Blueberries and CreamNot vegan
Cinnamon and SpicePossibly vegan
Coconut and CaramelPossibly vegan
Honey and AlmondsNot vegan
Maple and Brown SugarBoth packets and cups are possibly vegan
OriginalVegan
Peaches and CreamNot vegan
Peanut Butter and HoneyNot vegan
Peanut Butter and BananaPossibly vegan
Pumpkin SpiceNot vegan
Raisins and SpicePossibly vegan
Raisin, Date and WalnutVegan
Strawberries and CreamNot vegan

Vegan Oatmeal Recipe

The number of ingredients in the recipe is enough for one person who wants to feel full. And the same amount is enough for a light breakfast for two.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 3 tbsp. vegetable milk powder (in my case it was corn milk), but you can also use liquid almond milk.
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 banana
  • 200-300 ml. water
  • Raisins

Instructions:

  1. Place all the dry ingredients into a small pan and mix thoroughly.
  2. Add water to the dry mix and turn on the gas, stir everything well.
  3. A few minutes later, add the banana slices to the porridge and spoon them into the gruel.
  4. Stirring occasionally, cook the porridge until it gets the consistency you need. Before you turn off the gas, add raisins to the porridge.
  5. Porridge can be decorated with slices of banana and raisins, or sprinkled with cinnamon.

You can also make the tastiest and nutritional smoothie for breakfast with the help of a blender food processor.

Conclusion

Always check the ingredient list or ask the person who cooks the oatmeal for you about the ingredients before eating. So should you eat oatmeal or not depends on the way you define veganism and its varieties for yourself. I would recommend just choosing simple oats and add maple syrup or organic brown sugar in your oatmeal.

PIN IT!

Is Oatmeal Vegan?

Tagged in:

About the Author

Joshua Howard

I'm a healthy living blogger who loves to help people who care about having an eco-friendly home environment and a healthy lifestyle. With proper nutrition I helped my brother to cure gastritis and my father to normalize his blood pressure.

View All Articles