Are Bagels Vegan?

Welcome to the topic “ARE BAGELS VEGAN.”

Bagels are very popular among the people, whether toasted or eaten fresh; they are delicious, versatile, and can form part of a quick and easy snack or meal. Before getting too excited, we have to address the question at hand: Are bagels vegan?

Bagels are Jewish delights that are quite popular and unique in several ways. These doughnut-shaped pieces of bread come in various flavors that range from plain to sweet and savory. One can also fill them with an almost endless array of toppings.

Are Bagels vegan friendly?

Everybody loves bread, and in the battle of the carbs, bread might be about pip potatoes with rice, pasta, and rest of all battling it out for a distant third. As explained in the main feature: are bagels vegan? As is the case with various foods, some of the bagels are vegan, and some aren’t. Bagels are more like pitas and are usually vegan, but one cannot categorically state that all bagels are vegan as they are prepared in many different ways.

Moreover, as with most mass-produced commercial foodstuffs, some non-vegan food additives are occasionally chucked into the mix for a reason. If you are to pick any bagel brand, you have to choose from a recipe to make your own or visit a local bakery. There are chances that you would end up buying bagels that are suitable for the ones with a vegan diet. There is also good news that if the bagels come with a hole, it is 100% vegan.

ARE BAGELS VEGAN

ARE BAGELS VEGAN

Bagels ingredients

The primary ingredients to make a bagel are quite similar to the ones that are required for bread. You may or may not find it surprising, given that the bagels can be just another type of bread in one sense, but then in another, they have quite an unusual chewy texture.

None the less, a standard bagel recipe typically includes flour, yeast, sugar, salt, and water as main ingredients. There are various traditional bagel recipes available out there. Still, the ingredients’ list is the same as that used to make several different varieties of bread.

Why All Bagels May Not Be Vegan?

Some bagels aren’t kosher, some may indeed not be kosher, but metaphorically speaking, there are bagels available in the market that are not vegan. Mostly the vegans say that there might be potential issues with two ingredients i.e., sugar and flour.

Sugar

Most people are already aware that pure sugar might use bone char that comes from the animal’s bones to remove any impurities and produce a white end product. It is almost impossible to know whether the sugar used is 100% vegan by the strict standards in the processed products. Unless the bagel that includes sugar is labelled as vegan, the only way to be sure about it is to contact the manufacturer.

Flour

There was a time that it was not uncommon for flour to have amino acid L-cysteine added. This amino acid was used to improve the properties of flour, and sometimes it was made from the hairs or feathers of animals. It can also be made in vegan ways, and this is what we increasingly see being used in flour.

Non-vegan cysteine might still be a possibility, but now one has to be hard pushed to find any flour that includes this unwanted animal animal-derivative. Just like sugar and bone char, one cannot be entirely confident with processed goods unless we see the end product being labelled as vegan.

Eggs

Though eggs are not part of many traditional bagel recipes, they have sometimes been included in bagels. If we leave aside the rights and wrongs of adding an egg and its impact on the flour and the texture of the dough, we can undoubtedly say that various bagel recipes indeed include eggs.

There might be two ways in recipes for this delicious bread. Adding a whole egg to the dough makes it softer and lighter, as some recipes call to use egg white as a glazing agent. Egg white is sometimes used if the seeds like sesame or poppy need to be added at the top as this helps them to stick. Some recipes also use a whole beaten egg intending to have a nice glaze to the baked product.

Food additives

Food additives are also a thing to look out for, as bagels should be made with a handful of simple bread-recipe-staples, but more or less any sort of commercial availability of this Jewish classic is likely to have some processed food additives.

Many of these food additives are unproblematic, but we are aware that most flour in the UK is required by law to be fortified with different vitamins and minerals. Iron and calcium are vegan micronutrients and are beneficial for the vegans, while other food additives like acidity regulators and preservatives are also considered fine by the vegans.

Honey

Almost all of the methods to make bagels require some sweetening agent in the dough. Usually, this would be sugar, but a range of other items are also used sometimes. High-fructose corn syrup is one of such options, and thought this might be avoided in terms of health, but it is still vegan.

A small variety of bagels are made using honey as some people may like it because honey is perceived as a healthy and natural sweetener by many people, but it is not suitable for the vegans. Sometimes, it can also be used to enhance the flavor, but it is still out of bounds for the ones on a plant-based diet.

Conclusion

Vegans can definitely eat bagels as most of the bagels are dairy-free. Some varieties of bagels contain eggs, milk, or honey, and overall the majority of the grocery stores and chains offer a wide variety of vegan bagels for people to choose from. If you want to ensure your bagels are vegan, you should either make them yourself, check the package for a vegan certification, or list ingredients for non-vegan items.

Have any questions regarding the topic “ARE BAGELS VEGAN?” Feel Free to comment down below.

Also Read:15 Ways to Live Zero Waste Lifestyle and Tips to Adopt Trash-Free Living

Also Read: 33 Best Instant Pot Vegan Recipes

About the Author

Joshua Howard

I'm a healthy living blogger who loves to help people who care about having an eco-friendly home environment and a healthy lifestyle. With proper nutrition I helped my brother to cure gastritis and my father to normalize his blood pressure.

View All Articles